🏆87th 24 Hours of Le Mans -RACE- 2019

15.06.2019 – 16.06.2019 all-day

87th 24 Hours of Le Mans race will START on Saturday 15th June at 15:00 Le Mans local time.

  • Opened: 1923
  • Length: 13.626 km (8.469 mi)
  • Turns: 38
  • Race lap record: André Lotterer / Audi Sport Team Joest / LMP1 / 3:17.475 / 2015 /

Full list of Teams and Drivers to race in 2018 24H Le Mans race here

List of all Le Mans winners for all the time here

Just to know – compare 1920th and modern distance record. As twice as fast!

1928 24H distance record: 2,669.27 km / Bentley 4½ Litre
1928 Lap record: 8:07
2010 24H distance record: 5,410.71 km / Audi R15 TDI plus
2010 Lap record: 3:17.475

some of 24 Le Mans facts:

  • 1923: First edition of the “24 Heures du Mans”
  • 1930: Bentley wins for the 5th time, this is the saga of the “Bentley Boys”
  • 1949: Luigi Chinetti wins the event with Ferrari
  • 1955: A dreadful accident in the first hours of the race causing the death of 80 people
  • 1967: The “Race of the Century”, 300,000 spectators throng to attend the fight of the duel Ford against Ferrari / Breaking through of the 5,000 km mark for the first time!
  • 1970: First victory for Porsche and making of the film Le Mans with Steve McQueen
  • 1971: Flying start and not standing start anymore
  • 1972: Matra, Pescarolo and Graham Hill win. Hill is the only driver having won in Le Mans, in Indianapolis and being F1 world champion
  • 1980: Rondeau becomes the first driver who wins in Le Mans driving his own car
  • 1988: Speed record of 405 km/h by the prototype WM with a Peugeot engine
  • 1991: Victory of Mazda, first and only Japanese manufacturer having won the event
  • 1998: 16th and victory of Porsche. A record!
  • 2002: Making of the film Michel Vaillant
  • 2006: First victory of a diesel engine in Le Mans
  • 2008: Tom Kristensen wins for the 8th time the event with Audi
  • 2010: Lap record by the Peugeot 908 HDI FAP in 3’19”074, which means 246.463 km/h on average
  • 2011: 13.85’’ difference on the finishing line between the winning Audi and the Peugeot
  • 2012: A hybrid car puts its name on the list of winners: the Audi R18 e-tron quattro
  • 2013: Victory of the Audi R18 e-tron quattro driven by the Duval / Kristensen / McNish. Nb: Ninth victory of Tom Kristensen, winners recordman.
FavoriteLoadingAdd to favorites

Leave a Reply